Bruins Name Patrice Bergeron New Captain

Boston Bruins, Patrice Bergeron #37 (Photo by Maddie Meyer/Getty Images)
Boston Bruins, Patrice Bergeron #37 (Photo by Maddie Meyer/Getty Images) /

The Bruins announced Thursday that Patrice Bergeron will replace Zdeno Chara as the teams’ new captain.

With Zdeno Chara leaving at the end of December to join the Washington Capitals, for the first time in 14 years, the Boston Bruins were going to have a new captain. While there some names that could have been given the honor to wear the “C” for the Black and Gold, in the end, there was only one obvious choice.

Thursday morning, the Bruins announced through a video on Twitter what everyone knew was going to happen, naming Patrice Bergeron the new captain and the 20th in team history.

It should come as no surprise that Bergy is going to wear the “C”. He is the longest-tenured Bruin, entering his 17th season with the team, and the 36-year-old has spent his entire career in Boston. He has been an alternate captain since the 2006-07 season when Chara signed with the Bruins.

Of all of the players in the locker room, there is no doubt that he has the respect of everyone from teammates, coaches, and through the front office.

Chara met with the media in a Zoom call on Dec. 30 to discuss signing with the Capitals and he said on that call that “(Bergeron) absolutely is the right person to have as a captain.”

Bergeron ranks third in Bruins history with 1,089 games played and 67 game-winning goals. He is fifth with 352 goals and assists with 527, while sixth in points with 869. He has four Selke Trophies in his trophy cabinet.

The Bruins also announced that David Krejci will continue to be an alternate captain, along with Brad Marchand.

Bergeron joins a list of past Bruins Captains that includes Zdeno Chara (2006-20), Joe Thornton (2002-05), Jason Allison (2000-01), Ray Bourque (1985-2000), Rick Middleton (1985-88), Terry O’Reilly (1983-85), Wayne Cashman (1977-83), John Bucyk (1966-67 and 1973-77), Leo Boivin (1963-66), Don McKenney (1961-63), Ferny Flaman (1955-61), Ed Sanford (1954-55), Milt Schmidt (1950-54), John Crawford (1946-50), Ralph ‘Cooney’ Weiland (1938-39), Aubrey ‘Dit’ Clapper (1932-38 and 1939-47), George Owen (1931-32), Lionel Hitchman (1927-31), Sprague Cleghorn (1925-27).

Boston Bruins 2020-21 Depth Chart: Left Wing. dark. Next

The announcement comes one week before the Bruins open the season in New Jersey against the Devils on Jan. 14.